• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

How do I train a bonded pair of birds?

Yen

Moving in
Hi, I’m a total newbie to training birds. I’m so confused about how to train a bonded pair of lovebirds. Any help would be very much appreciated!

I adopted two young lovebirds from a friend in mid December who couldn’t keep them anymore. Male (Blueberry) is about a year old and female (Asuri) is about 7 months old.

My friend taught Blueberry how to do step up, wings, spin and turn around the perch. He demonstrated it very well. That was before he bonded with Asuri. Now, he seems to have forgotten or not be willing to do any trick except step up. Is it possible for me to encourage Blueberry to remember the tricks he did? He’s a very smart bird and quite used to human interaction. He climbed on us by himself and explored us the same day we got him home.

Asuri is much shyer and my friend didn’t train her at all. She will come to my hand for treats with caution but will not step up. I’ve been trying to teach Asuri step-up but she’s distracted chirping and desperately looking for Blueberry during training. So I tried putting them together during her training session. But when they are together, they fight over the training treat that I’m offering Asuri to come to my hand. I’m really confused about how to train both birds now.

Thanks!

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew

April

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
@Zara may have some suggestions since she has several adorable Lovies.

Emma&pico

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Emma
I have four lovebirds