• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hen won’t come into condition

Atypical

Moving in
I’m a bit timid to post this as I know some people aren’t fans of breeding. I’ve been trying to bring my hen into condition since the beginning of October, but her cere has changed very little. Please do not try to talk me out of breeding. I already know the risks, how to care for chicks/breeding pairs, and how to hand feed. I’ve been researching it for the past 3 months and have already spent $150+ on supplies. I have owned budgies for almost 4 years and have a flock of 11, so I’m no stranger to budgies. All babies will be staying with me. My issue is my hen won’t come into condition. She’s been getting more sunlight, fresh food and baths daily, and she has a cuttlebone and mineral block. I moved her into a cage with just my cock about a week ago, and they’ve certainly bonded very well. Her cere looks like it has changed slightly but not a lot. Both of my other hens have come into condition, but they are young and quite immature, so I’m not using them. I started her on a breeding supplement yesterday, so we’ll see if that helps at all. Her cere currently is mostly white with a very, very pale brown around her nostrils and then a little bit of pale blue. There’s not nest box in the cage currently. I don’t want to add it in until she’s in condition because I fear she may breed when she’s not in condition. My hen is 2 1/2 and my cock is 3. She’s healthy so I’m stumped.

Ripshod

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Linden
If she doesn't feel ready for breeding she won't come into condition. Thus could be just the way she feels or a health issue, or even something disturbing her sleep.

Last edited:

Atypical

Moving in