• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hen vomiting ... my experience

demhahero

Moving in
Real Name
Afera Donkson
Warning, this post is not meant to give you reliable information of how to treat your budgie, rather, I would just share with you my experience. I am no expert!!!

One day night, my hen started vomiting, at first I thought she was regurgitating as usual, but after careful observations, I made sure she was vomiting all the seeds she ate earlier. I have no clue why she did that, but after like 10 mins, she stopped it. Probably she emptied the crop. In that day morning, she did not eat well. I can tell since I was handfeeding her. She was around 1 year old and I was trying to build trust with her.

Anyways, I decided to watch her instead of going to vet. First thing I did was cleaning the cage and covering it with a piece of clothing to keep her warming and to rest throughout the night. In the morning I presented her water with garlic and a few drops of lemon. Heard that would help her to recover. One day later and everything was fine with her.

Possible reasons, could be due to handfeeding or because I was letting her kissing me. Could be an infection from my lips, hands or she ate her poops (sometimes she does that, but very rare). BTW, I stopped feeding her by my hands and allowing her to touch my lips.

Please again, I am no expert, I just tried to follow what google suggests in such cases. If that happens to you and you are able to visit a vet, DO IT.

Wish your feathered friends a healthy, happy, and long life.

Last edited:

Miss_sj

Jogging around the block
Real Name
stacie
I'm very glad that it turned out ok and your hen is fine. I haven't heard that it would be ok to feed budgies garlic. If it ever happens again please take her to the vet. Illness can turn serious very quickly with little birds.

Shezbug