• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help!

Wait couple days or get another one?

• Wait

Votes: 3 100.0%
  • Get another one

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Ludo

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Vanshika
Hi, I got my parakeet from a breeder. I got her on Wednesday and today’s Sunday. I am a student so I travelled home on Friday and am going back to my apartment today on Sunday. My parakeet is very quiet and I have to handfeed her otherwise she doesn’t eat. She sits in a corner most of the time and is also sleepy and sluggish. I have been letting her out of the cage and I also play parakeet sounds and that’s the only time she chirps a little bit. I recently changed her feed to bigger fuity seeds/grains and she cant fit it in her mouth I guess and spits in out. The breeder asked me to get another bird for her company but I am with her 24/7. Should I wait it out since I am going back today and don’t plan on changing her environment and houses anytime again soon, or should I get another bird. I dont want her to die of loneliness of something but idk why am I not able to provide her company because I sit by her and talk to her all day but I also don’t want her to die of loneliness or not eating. I was thinking about wait another 2-3 to let her settle in and see what happens but I just get worried seeing her like this all day. I don’t think she sleeps either despite covering her cage and setting her in a quiet room. I am afraid that if I get another one then either of them won’t bond with me. Please help!!

Wardy

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
First thing i would advise you to do is feed her what the breeder was feeding it.
A new home a new face etc. Is a big enough stress without a change of food if you dont know what the breeder was feeding i