• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help with new Eclectus

Brighty199

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Brittany
A friend of mine just showed up at my house with an Eclectus that I guess someone was going to just set free outside. I have other birds, but I have no experience in caring for this guy. (Green = male right?) All of the research I've been doing in the last couple hours has mentioned them needing a special diet, but there are several different variations of this diet. What do you recommend/What do you feed your Eclectus? This poor baby has also been plucking his feathers, he has a bald patch on his chest area. Any advice would be appreciated.
***I did call my avian vet and set up an appointment to have him checked over, but they arent able to get him in until Thursday morning so I just want to make sure I properly care for him in meantime until my vet can advise me of this birds needs***

Monaco

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Kelly Hill
Poor guy. Thanks for helping him.

It's going to depend on what he's accustomed to eating, and changing his diet can be difficult.

For the time being try for high water, fleshy fruits and vegetables. Squashes, papaya, melon, mango, grapes. They often have sensitivity to dyes, so pellets without dye will be a good plan... I've used Higgins intune, Roudybush and tops to wean off of zupreem. Butternut squash and sweet potatoes (steamed) is excellent, and papaya has digestive enzymes. I like these to use to introduce new foods or hide things my girl doesn't like very much. Cinnamon is a favorite here that I also use to disguise things she doesn't like. Try for as much fresh as he will eat.

I'll get you a link to a thread on diet.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue