• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help with lethargic cockatiel?

Levithebes

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello all, this is my first time using the site, sorry if I am posting this in the wrong place-

I have a 3-4 month old pearl cockatiel who was given to me about 3 weeks ago, and despite what the place i got hin from said, he is still very baby like. He constantly screeches for food, I've been refusing to feed him formula but he always eats seed whenever he's on me and he eats a lot of it too. He weighs anwhere betwen 70-78 grams, his weight flucuates quite often. He drinks water and is hydated. My concern is how lethargic he can be.

He'll constanly have one eye closed or half closed, lots of head bobbing, and lots of sleeping. He'll be sitting on my shoulder for less than a minute and already start trying to sleep. He's active with some of his toys, and he's especially active when wanting out of the cage. But the moment I take him out, he seems really tired.

I know this is a sign of sickness. It's a very obvious one too. My mom is convinced it's just him being a baby bird and doesnt want to pay for a vet bill. I know we should take him to the vet, I would just like some other people's thoughts.

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
Are you able to post a video of this behaviour?

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle