• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help with conure chicks

Moeee

Checking out the neighborhood
Hey i’m totally new to raising parrots/birds and I got a 26 day old pineapple conure 3 days ago. I didn’t know that I should have kept it with the breeder till it started weaning, the breeder himself didn’t even give me tips or whatsoever, all he said was to syringe feed him 10ml everyday and he wasn’t very specific on how many times I should or when but I do try not to over feed him. I’m really scared and nervous, I never expected raising a conure this young would be so stressful and I don’t know a single thing nor know anyone that could give me tips. Whenever I try to feed him or even get close to him, he starts being so loud and i’m not sure why. Im thinking of giving it to a vet till it weans tomorrow morning but yeah I really need a beginner’s guide to raising a cute conure chick.

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]
@Zara may be able to help when she gets on

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Im thinking of giving it to a vet till it weans tomorrow morning
If this is an option then I would definitely go this route.

all he said was to syringe feed him 10ml everyday and he wasn’t very specific on how many times
This bird should be on at least 4 feeds per day, each feeding should be 10% of his body weight.
So every morning, you need to weight the bird (kitchen scales are fine), write it down and then feed 10% of that number that day. For eg, bird weighs 50g, then each feed is 5CC.