• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help with a cockatiel

Angela_2

Walking the driveway
Hello everyone.

A dear friend of mine bought a cockatiel. She decided to take him/her because they were in really bad situation, bad feather and weak body. It seems sadly they previous owner didn't take care of them. The cage wasn't clean at all and the food wasn't good for a parrot. So , she decided to take care of him/her to make them home and give the best she could do for them.

So i'd like to have advices for her since it's her first parrot. I gave her mine based on my experience with Tweety. But i'm no expert nor familiar with cockatiels

We see that she/he doesn't eat veggies nor fruit, only seeds despite anything she tried. Also there's a bald spot under their beak (and there's no broken feathers in the cage button or anywhere, it doesn't seem to be plucking i think it's due the lack of poor diet and caring) and they make a noise that seems to be a young bird

The feathers look bad as well as the tail. they have their wings unclipped but never fly

They were very stressed in beginning but then they seem doing fine and whistling a lot nicely.
she's going to buy them pellet and other stuff and go to the vet once it's possible.

What can guys advise in this situation? anything the she can do to make them feel better and convince them to eat veggies

note: here's a link she sent me to post here of what they look like. She isn't sure yet about if she's a she or a he nor about their age

Last edited:

Sunni Tiel

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Rachel
By the looks of it that's a tiny baby that should still be on formula. I may be wrong, but this isn't good. @Zara ?

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge