• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help in taming? Worried I lost trust :(

New2birds

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Sarah Phillips
Hello everyone!

as my name suggests I am very new to birds. I have done YEARS of research so I felt prepared when I brought home two budgies who had been rehomed by a family. Their owner passed of a stroke.

I love these guys so much and have upgraded their cage and eating habits. But today I learned I’ve been making a huge mistake. When they come out of the cage I have been catching them with a towel (which obviously scares them) and I just learned this is probably making them lose a bunch of trust in me. I feel awful and won’t do it again. I just thought this is what you had to do with untamed birds (obviously I know differently now).

These guys will sit on my hand and eat millet like no tomorrow! They also don’t mind if I move my hand all around and outside the cage when they’re on it: but the second they fly off of it out of the cage they won’t get BACK on my hand (hence the catching).

Should I work with them more in getting comfortable with me before coming out of the cage again? Or should I just try new methods (like the night light and dark room) to get them back in their cage?

sorry for this novel! I love these little ones so much and want the very best for them I thought some birdy experts might be able to help!

New2birds

Real Name
Sarah Phillips
Hello everyone!

as my name suggests I am very new to birds. I have done YEARS of research so I felt prepared when I brought home two budgies who had been rehomed by a family. Their owner passed of a stroke.