• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Help after boarding my Macaw

SimonsMom

Moving in
I am new to here so if I’m posting this in the wrong place , I apologize in advance.
I have a BG macaw , I think he is about 17
We left him at the pet store for boarding while we were on vacation, and every since we got home he has not been acting normal, seems to be very stressed out, in the cage or even on his Java tree ?
This is my first time leaving him since we got him , in January.
I am not sure what to do, or even if this is normal, but it’s very upsetting for us to see him like this.
He is not our Old Simon any more.
Can someone please give me some advice

Hankmacaw

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Mary Lynn Skinner
Depending on your bird's background -all the years you didn't have him, something may have triggered a feeling of insecurity. Try some TLC and extra attention and special treats for awhile. This may bring him out of his mood. Patience - it will take patience, understanding and kindness.

If you mean that he seems physically uncomfortable then get him to the vet right away. There are many diseases that he could have contracted while being boarded. That is why I always board with my vet.

SimonsMom

Moving in
No he doesn’t seem physically hurt or anything.
He is just rubbing his beak on the bars of his cage when he is in the cage, and he’s not talking or acting like he did before boarding, however you might be onto something because I believe the people we got him from were just leaving him in his cage all the time , and I think he may have been left in his cage for the whole time we were gone because they told me he was very cage territorial, the first thing I got back.