• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amaterasu

Walking the driveway
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Jessica
I live in Houston, TX and currently have a Senegal named Gus.

I've got lots of experience with different parrots (been bitten by everything from a cockatiel to a B&G :D).

Gus is a rehomed bird I got from a disabled older woman last July. Apparently she saw some tv show about behavioral issues in parrots and realized Gus was not in an ideal situation. She responded to a post I made on craigslist offering to adopt a bird. She told me up front that he chewed his tail feathers frequently and would pluck them out every couple months once he nibbled them down enough.

Gus was immediately friendly and talkative the moment I met him. He was not territorial about his cage, even to strangers, and he was very laid back. He was kept in a small cage in a dark kitchen. He only had some old metal bells for toys, nothing to chew on. He was fed a seed diet bought from the grocery store supplemented with a few veggies. The owner was on a fixed income and wanted to do better for him but couldn't afford it.