• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hatching a single duck... (sad update #6)

Bunchobird

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Mali
Hey guys!
Im on day 10, and im getting a bit concerned as to how im going to be prepared. I have a poultry heating block, waterer, and feeder. I am getting concerned because hatch day is 18 days out, and im not super prepared. if anyone has any reccomendations on indoor housing, feed, duck diapers, harnesses, leashes, and any other advice I will be glad to take in. as you respond please take in mind that I am a student, and under limited budget. Thank you soo much!

also for people concerned how I ended up with only one egg, my ducks lay eggs and i put in 12, but since it is the beginning of march, and only 1 ended up being fertile.

Shannan

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Shannan
Any way you could find another duckling, that will hatch about the same day? They will do better as a pair. If not, you might consider adding a stuffed animal, or small pillow, or stuffed sock that the duckling can cuddle with. As young babies, I use an old dog crate or bird cage with a heat lamp or brooder. I have heard of some people using those big totes with screens on the top. Ducks are messy and will dip their food in water so having a brooder pen that is water proof will help out bunches. Never done diapers as my poultry is outside. Good luck with your new little one.
1646534294868.png .

AussieBird

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Call me AB
I would look in to finding another duckling if you can. I did it with one of my last chicks who hatch alone, a friend had chicks too so Elly came to be a companion for Rick.
@fashionfobie may have additional advice.

fashionfobie

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue