• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Handfeeding my baby Hahns

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChristyHuber

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Christy
Hello, I'm new to Avian Avenue. I had a question about handfeeding my baby hahns macaw, General Sheldon Buckminster Worth(he's a british general). He's started eating on his own in between feedings(I feed him twice a day now) and he's actually eating quite a lot right now, which is supposed to be time for his second feeding. My question is, should I feed him still, or should I just skip it since he's eating dinner on his own? And does anyone know when I'm supposed to go down to one feeding? Thanks!

-Christy

Gen120

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Victoria :)
How old is your baby macaw?

ChristyHuber

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Christy
I believe he's around 2 months, maybe 2 and a half. The place I got him from SUCKED and gave me as little information as possible. I realized I shouldn't have even brought him home before being weaned, but they convinced me it would be ok before sending me off with very little information on hand feeding babies, which I've never done before. I've been hand feeding him for two weeks and 2 days at 2 feedings a day.

Gen120

Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Victoria :)
hmm, I don't know much about handfeeding macaws/larger parrots.
I hadfed my 2 sun conures and 2 of my cockatiels also, but I have never done a larger bird. I think you should feed his the formula as long as he wants it. Have you talked to an Avian vet about this? I can help you, as well as a lot more members.

ChristyHuber

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Christy
I haven't been to the vet yet, only because I'm still browsing potential avian vets, since I'm new to the area. But any advice will help!

Renae

Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month