• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hand raised kakariki female

kyleighblu

Moving in
Real Name
Kyleigh
Hi everyone. One week ago today I purchased a female kakariki, hand raised, 3 months old. I've never owned one before (always had budgies) so I'm very new to it. I don't know if I'm rushing things or not but she bites my fingers really hard. I don't out my hands in her cage in order to get her out, I open the door and she comes out on her own. I will then offer my hand for her to climb on and she'll run up my arm and sit on my shoulder or back and generally flies off. I have had to buy a pair of leather gloves to out on my hand as her bites hurt really bad. Am I doing the wrong thing with the glove? She will eat sunflower seeds from my fingers but if I put them on the palm of my hand she will bite my fingers. Is she still learning to trust me? I've been told and have read conflicting things in regards to how to handle biting but I wanna do this the right way. Should I just be more patient? When I talk to her she'll jump to me in the cage and allow me to touch her claws a tiny bit and she makes the little.noise they make all the time, especially when I enter or leave the room. She has a lot of toys, good food, is in my lounge room and sleeps in the bathroom covered of a night. Please help me understand my baby.

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew

Feathery

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Nichole
Hi and welcome!
:hello:

If you've only had her a week, you guys are both getting to know each other and learning how to interact.

Perhaps you should just be totally hands off for now until you build a relationship.