• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Green cheek conure enjoys lips too much

Nestum

Meeting neighbors
I've had Romeo for about a month now. He's 3 months old and everything seems to be going smoothly. He's healthy and not a very picky eater. Also didn't expect him to be such a cuddle bug!

I'm new to conures however, I've only had cockatiels up to this point, and everything is very alien to me. And here's one thing about Romeo that intrigues me since day #1: He's very nibbly. He's constantly nibbling on my fingers, and when he's on my shoulder he'll nibble on my ear and face. Recently, however, his beak has gotten a lot more stronger and he doesn't seem to notice. His bites can really hurt, even when he doesn't mean it. He has this weird fixation with my lips and teeth. I never encourage this behavior but he has given me a couple of tough love scars!

I was wondering if this is something normal for these types of birds and what are some tips to make him stop!

Regardless, can't wait to get to know this little guy even better!

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
Real Name
Shez

Mockinbirdiva

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Andrea