• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Gcc

yoshiii

Moving in
Real Name
Ashley
Hello! I’m a new owner and recently new to the birdy community. I know them at seed are not a good diet for a bird since they’re like junk food, i really want to change his diet to pellet diet. I am kinda nervous and still make mistakes but I am still learning. My gcc is about 5 month, I heard Harrison’s pellets are nice start. But I don’t want to make mistakes with him. So can you please help? What would you peeps recommend?

Mizzely

Lil Monsters Bird Toys
Super Moderator
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Shawna [she/her]

There is no single best pellet. My focuses are:

1. The bird eats it. If they won't eat it, it doesn't matter if it is harvested from the Amazon itself.
2. The bird does well on it. Not all pellets are a good fit for every bird.
3. It fits your budget. If you are having to eat Ramen 5 nights a week to feed your bird, it is okay to feed them another pellet they like and do well on!

Now, I do have preferences. Ideally, I like a pellet to be:

1. Free of Sugar. They don't need it!
2. Free of Dyes. No reason to have them if you can avoid them!
3. Vitamin Fortified.

That being said, for birds who are resistant to eating pellets, I have personally had the best luck with Zupreem FruitBlend. Most of my birds have then been easier to convert to a pellet I prefer. Ripley, however, does not care about my preferences and is happy and healthy on it, so I still feed it while also offering other options.

Teckechick

Ask me for a photo of my bird, I have to post one!
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Dawn