• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

GCC plucking/barbering her sister GCC

pawilliams

Meeting neighbors
Hi, I'm Paul and I'm new here on AA. I'm also a newbie bird owner with a bit of a dilemma.

I have two adorable GCC's named Merry and Pippen. Merry is a turquoise yellow-sided, and Pippen is a pineapple. Although they were from different clutches, they hatched about two weeks apart at the same breeder's last March (2019). I asked for them to be raised together, and bought them both, because I work an office job full-time and didn't want a solitary bird to be lonely while I was out. They were raised in the same cage until their flight feathers came in, then the breeder clipped them (without asking me), and she sold them to me once they were fully weaned onto a solid food diet. Until last week, they had always shared a single cage.

However, maybe two months ago, Pippen started chewing up the feathers that grew in from Merry's first moulting. Pippen also barbered the one flight feather Merry had partially kept from her first fledge until only the shaft remained behind; this was bad enough. But now she's apparently also started chomping Merry's tail and other flights so that they're ragged. I only observed this behavior about two weeks ago, when I caught Pippen going after Merry's new shorter flights. Usually they'd just groom each other in what seemed (to me at least), a relatively normal and reciprocal fashion. And Pippen never, ever, ever chews her own feathers - they're glorious!