• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

First-time Layer (Lovebird) at 10mos

Cecily

Moving in
Hi, everyone!

I'm an accidental owner (long story) of a lovebird we had, until now, called John. Well, John just laid an egg, and as I have no experience with egg-layers, I'm wondering if someone with breeding experience can help me through the first-time worries of having a young egg-layer.

John started showing signs of nesting behavior and, because he's only 10mo, I immediately tried all the stop-laying things I could find: low light, short days, no nest areas, etc. Got him to the vet who confirmed he might be ovulating but was otherwise healthy. Despite best efforts he laid an egg two days ago, and today is sitting near the top of the cage with the classic arched/puffed back, peeping now and then. Defecating normally, fairly chatty to himself. Coming down to drink water, but definitely tail-bobbing and a very fat butt.

I am hoping this is the signs of another egg, but because all my past experience says puffed up back = call the vet, I'm hoping to hear from more experienced owners: when do you start thinking about egg binding? How do I tell the difference between the normal discomfort of egg-laying (which in my experience with chickens is broodily sitting in one spot, puffed up, chirping a little, until suddenly Egg) and the signs of egg binding? Initial internet research suggests some similarity between the two? Should I be waiting until I see him ignore food/get very blinky-eyed to get him checked out?

Sorry for the length and potential nothing; John's a bit of a miracle baby and my first lovebird so I'm just a total overprotective monster. My vet is probably tired of seeing me for nothing, lol.

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name