• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

First Eclectus Parrot

Kmck323

Sitting on the front steps
Real Name
Kate
Good Morning..after some thought I have decided to get my first eclectus parrot by middle to end of February. Its been hand fed/tamed/spoiled and will also be flight harness trained. This will be only my second parrot after having a small Green Cheek Conure...she unfortunately passed away November of last year...she was the best and we fell in love with her. I am new to parrot ownership as a whole so I am grateful to have found all of you for experience and expertise. I really wanted a CAG but after some research on the dust dander they produce I decided against it as I have a hubby with moderate asthma/allergies. Ive been reading up on the Eclectus diet and have been studying. I was hoping to hear from all of you what your experience is having one, what to expect, training tips, experience with afmily bonding. I have two girls ages 9 and 7 who were very involved with our conure so we are exoecting them to be just as involved with our newest addition. I am very nervous due to its size although I know its considered only a medium sized bird... will need a new cage as well and Im hoping to get a friend of ours to build an outdoor aviary in time. Looking forward to hearing from all of you! :)

Olliebirb

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Julia A
I have never owned an eclectus but they are definitely in my top 5 birds that I want! Please show us pictures!!

Aves

camelotshadow

Joyriding the Neighborhood
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Christine
All I know
Pretty big bird a slight bigger than a Gray
Males are easier going temperament & they need a specialized diet.