• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

egg questions?

Ifrit

Strolling the yard
Hi,

I'm new to having a budgie girl, I have only had boys until recently. Any advice on how to tell if my girl will lay eggs? What to do if she does? What to do if she doesnt? If she needs any special care that is different from my males (seperate cages, there is no breeding atm)

MyAussieFriends

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Alyssa
I have two female budgies and two males. I have never offered them a nest box, or anything that they could take as a nest such as a happy hut. I've never had an issue with my females laying eggs.

Are you planning on breeding?

penny'smom

Real Name
Ashley
We had budgies growing up, and my mom still has one. I'm not sure how who was male or female, but there was only one who tried to lay an egg. Despite taking her to a vet, we lost her to egg binding. With my pigeons, I replace their eggs with fakes - not sure if this works with budgies as well.

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
I have a male and female English budget in the same cage. No nest. They have not mated. I am prepared with dummy eggs.

pinkdagger

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Michelle
You can use dud/fake eggs to prevent any oops clutches. If you're afraid they'll get broody with a little lady around, you can make some changes to their environment to discourage mating behaviour: RP - Mating

If she ever does start nesting, like hanging out a lot in covered perches, tents, under newspaper... just generally hiding in places for long periods of time (but not ill), vent looking bigger, she may get nippy or cranky, those can be signs of nesting. If she does start laying eggs, make sure she's getting enough calcium since hens require quite a bit to form eggs.

fluffypoptarts