• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Egg laying

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ziggymon

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Heidrun, or Mouse
One of the cockatiels I'm adopting has a history of excessive egg laying. I've never had a bird with this problem; Finnegan was laying while she was at the rescue, but she hasn't laid a single egg here.

This new girl had a Lupron shot about six weeks ago. Will that shot take care of the situation for the remainder of this year? Should I be getting some fake eggs to "give" her if she starts laying again?

As I said, I'm a novice about this, so anything you can share would be helpful. If there's already a thread on this, I apologize. I know I also need to educate myself so that I can recognize egg binding and other problems that may come up.

ellimaye

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Ellie
:bump4::anyone: Hopefully, you'll get some really good advice on this when more members are on here! :) I'm interested in reading what people have to say...

Anne & Gang

Riding the Skies
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avian Angel
Real Name
Anne