• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Do Cockatoo's Make Good Pets?

BirdEE

Walking the driveway
I think I would really like to foster a cockatoo someday?
In a few years maybe. I'm still just working my way through the doorway of the bird world. :)

I always wanted to be a foster parent.. I was a preschool teacher and a CASA, and I had really good bonds with some of the kids no one else seemed to click with. The kinds of kids that might throw themselves on the floor screaming because their shoe wasn't tied the right way. Fits never bothered me and finally finding a way to work through them was so immensely rewarding.
I really wanted to be able to put my heart and training into helping a kid who got a bad shot.
But my SO .. he used to work in juvenile corrections.. he picked up a different perspective than I did. He's not as comfortable or passionate about the idea. We might do it someday, but not until we are older.

Helping out one of these amazing birds instead would really satisfy my heart, I think.
Sounds like you might have what it takes haha. Instead of shoes not being tired right though, it’s food not being made right. Not made right? On the floor it goes. I like green melon not watermelon. On the floor it goes. They also have a serve lack of patients. When they want something they want it NOW. I was just outside tonight and I hear through the screen door “DAAAAAADDDD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING?! COME HERRRRRE”. Over and over again :lol:

Wthensler

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
William hensler
We've had our M2 Miss Coco over 10 years now, we got her as a baby.

She's probably towards the end of the spectrum of a Too. Well adjusted, not violent at all, sweet, loving, social, humorous. Gets very little cage time because she rarely gets into trouble. My wife can rule her 100%.