• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Do Cockatiels really need raw fruits and veggies in their diets?

Pearly

Meeting neighbors
Hi all,

As a novice, I have been mixing Zupreem smart select seed mix and Roudybush Maintenance pellets on a 50:50 basis to feed my Cockatiels. They finished the pellets most of the time.
My Cockatiels hardly eat raw fruits and veggies, except sliced apple. Even then, they only nib a little bit of the slices. Most of it ended up in the bin.

Having read in other threads and in other forums that how aged cockatiels could still be hale and hearty despite eating only seed mix and pellets throughout their lifespans, it makes me wonder whether there is a real need in introducing raw fruits and fresh veggies in their daily diets? I read in some cases, owners actually feed them what they eat on the table top.

Aren't those pricey feed manufactured by reputable brands and recommended by Vets good enough since they are supposedly full of vitamins and contain essential minerals required by the birds?

Are we worry too much and pamper them unnecessarily?

What do you think?

Thank you.

Regards,

birdy.929

Walking the driveway
yes, cockatiels do need fresh vegetables daily to stay happy and healthy. since fruits are high in sugar, i only feed them 2-3 times a week. along with vegetables, i also feed my birds roudybush pellets and a variety of sprouts, grains, herbs, and healthy nuts. i believe that pellets and seeds are not enough to keep your bird healthy.

Last edited:

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
TAILGATING
Cutest Bird Ever!!!
I´m not an avian nutritionalist, but given that your bird eats the pellets, you have a lot less to worry about than say someone whos bird only eats seed.