• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Diamond doves able to eat finch and budgie pellets?

Jogging around the block
Hi all, sorry if I did not post this in the right place or make some mistakes, it is my first time here :wacky:

I have 2 budgies , 3 canaries and 3 zebra finches in one large cage atm. I have 3 Diamond doves in a separate cage. I have plans to build a large indoor aviary (too cold outside here) and would like to add in the Diamond doves.
The mixed species cage is currently on 1/3 budgie seed mix , 1/3 finch seed mix and 1/3 Vetafarm Finch and Budgie Crumbles. I hope to convert them slowly onto 100% pellets, they aren't seeming to eat much of the crumbles at the moment but I have seen the zebra finches chewing them up, they seem to like them. This is not all their diet, they eat lots of greens (mainly leafy greens and safe garden weeds) or at least the finches and canaries do, this would make up about 30-40% or what they eat. But the budgies on the other hand don't seem to touch the greens, I put them on the bottom of the cage, do the budgies not like to fly down and eat them? I have seen them do this once or twice but they seemed tense about being on the ground. I also give them a egg and biscuit wet mix every now and then, they all love it.