• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Day Seven with Nugget

Status
Not open for further replies.

rabernet

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Robin Abernethy
And I thought I'd share things I've learned and mistakes I've made and the corrections that I've made.

If you read my introduction, you know that not only am I new to lovebirds, but I'm new to birds period.

I've been around lovebirds, and I've seen how bonded they become to their guardian (at least my friend's lovie is completely and totally head over heels in love with her and she did hand raise him herself).

In any case, I purchased Nugget at the Atlanta Bird Fair last Saturday after carefully going around to see all the lovies, ask lots of questions of the breeders, before deciding that not only was Nugget a good choice, but I was also most comfortable with this breeder and the care I felt Nugget received prior to joining my "zoo".

Bought a cage there too, that came with the two standard wooden dowels, some toys and three perch swings as well as millet, seed and pellets.

Nugget is still a baby - will be nine weeks old this weekend. I do see her poking in her food dish, but can't say that I see her eat a lot and after reading the threads on various forums above about taming a lovebird, I do see that it's less important to convert her to a variety of foods than it is to allow her to get settled and eat more seed if that's what she wants to do - for now. Variety can come later, trust and comfort first. I do see her tearing up her millet though (I have one of those beaded things that twists around the millet and hangs from the top of the cage).