• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Dark poop this morning

Csolis22

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Constanza
Hi everyone I woke up to some very dark droppings in my bird’a bowl. I squished some to see what color it was and it looks very dark brown.
I took her bowl away for bed last night since her hormonal behavior was severe and she was enamored with her bowl. Not sure if lack of food for those hours could’ve caused this because I usually leave her with pellets.

Please let me know what you think.

7AA86BD7-A1A5-48D0-A6AD-F439BBFF1D78.jpeg

Icey

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Ann
I am by no means a poop expert but that does not look normal to me.
What dod you feed her last night so other members may be able to advise you.
I am also tagging our poop expert. @Mizzely Who may be able to help.

Pixiebeak

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Laura
that black is usually digested blood from higher up in gi system...and when broken up looks like coffee grounds like seems to in your picture...not an expert either....

Any chance chewed on some metal? If it digestive blood ( and im not sure ) it can be a sign of heavy metal ...and other i..

Did it return to normal? Any signs if weakness ir being off?

Pixiebeak

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Laura
I just looked through your other posts and they all seem to be health issues with your sweet girl...
It possible she has an infection in the gi again...
Your January nap picture she seemed to have tail Bob and slight increases respiratory effort. But when awake in second video of her regurgitating it wasn't noticeable. So if its there its very slight and only seen at rest.