• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Conure going crazy

Maskly

Moving in
This is my first post on the forum, so I apologize for breaking any rules if I do with this post. I'm new to this whole forum thing.

I have a golden conure, about 10 months old and she does not want to be in her cage. When I put her in there, whether it be at night (around 8-9 pm) or if I am stepping out of the house, she will go absolutely crazy. She will run around the cage (not the perches in the cage, but the floor and walls) chirping, hitting the bar of the cage with her beak, climbing on the cage bars and then sliding down, making so much noise, all because she wants to come out again. She will do this for however long she is there, only stopping to eat and drink. If I even look at the cage she will be on the floor of the cage, right by the door ready to leave. It's coming to that point where I am worried she will injure herself doing these antics and she cannot stay in her cage for any amount of time. Before we would only leave her in her cage when we all are stepping out of the house and take her out of the cage the second we get back. But now she can't stand to be in there for even 5 minutes.

Her cage has plenty of natural wood perches, a flat perch, rope perches, shredding toys, bells, and a giant foraging toy. She doesn't even play with them in the cage but when I take it out of the cage and put it on the roll away perch, she will play with it like there is no tomorrow. Before this happened, she would spend max 1-3 hours in her cage a day, but now she can't even spend 10 minutes. I know she is doing that for attention and because she wants to leave the cage but sometimes she needs to be in her cage for a little while. How do I stop her from doing this? Thank you!

ParrotNuts

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Atharv