• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Constipated Quaker

Picses35

Checking out the neighborhood
Hello, I am new here and am hoping for help.
My 17 y/o Quaker Gus Gus is constipated. I am feeding him apples and he is licking flax seed oil off my fingers. Seems to have helped a bit.
Right now he is drinking water and actually passing gas! Never heard that high pitched air noise from a bird, but he is still very uncomfortable.
Any suggestions that can help?
It's Sunday, no avian vets available :(.
I've also gently cleaned and wiped is bottom with warm water.
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank you

BirdG1rl

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Mara M.M
Unfortunately, I have no experience with Quakers. Make him comfortable, continue what you are doing. I hope he will feel better soon! :sadhug2:

Jogging around the block
From what I‘ve heard about baby birds what you are doing is good. My great great grandmother used to breed canaries and for egg bound birds, which is probably similar to constipation , she used to feed flax seed oil and it usually fixed the egg binding, so I think the flax seed oil will definitely help at least a little.
Wishing your little one a speedy recovery! :sadhug2:

Shezbug

ASK ME FOR PICTURES OF MY MACAW!
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Shez
@Hankmacaw @Zara @Mizzely

I don’t think it’s normal at all to hear high pitched noises from your birds gut.

Have you contacted your vet?

How long has it been since the last poop?
What does he usually eat?

Last edited:

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge