• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Constant Sqwaking Cockatiel HELP!

FurNfeather

Checking out the neighborhood
Hi There, I am new to Avian Avenue.

I have a 10 month old Cockatiel who I hand raised from 8 weeks. Since I have had him he sqwaks constantly ALL DAY. I have tried every kind of toy imaginable and he wont play with any of them - hanging toys, swings, textured toys, mirrors, ladders, ropes, i have made my own out of kitchen rolls and newspaper, i have hidden food in them, and he never touches any of them. He always has fresh food and water, is in the shade, gets a variety of fruits and vegetables (which he never touches either) and has an hour out of the cage every day, where he just sits there and fluffs his feathers.

I am at a loss on what to do, he just sits there and sqwaks all day, and I am unsure why. The vet says he is healthy and he cant possibly be bored, he has been wormed. Usually he sqwaks one sqwak constantly over and over, but sometimes it becomes urgent and he just tweets and tweets over and over, really loud.

What can I do? Please help me, I think I have done everything I can. :arghh:

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
What are you feeding him and how much of it is he eating? Most likely he is hungry. Can you try soft moist foods from a spoon?

CeciliaZ

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Real Name
Cecilia