• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Considering becoming a lovebird parent

EleanorB

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Eleanor Barden
Hi, I have never had a bird before. I have had many pets in my lifetime but we currently have just a python. I am interested in purchasing a lovebird but I have some questions. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
1.) I am a nurse, I work 3 x 13 hr shifts per week. Would this be too long to be away from my bird?
2.) how comfortable are these birds with being handled.
3.) Where's the best place to buy one (ethical sourcing).
4.) How noisy are they? I've heard conflicting things.

Thanks again!

Birdie Mama

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Welcome!!

@Zara has a beautiful flock and can probably answer most questions that even though I have a lovie as well, would not know how to answer as well as her. She is on the Europe side of the the pond so maybe a little while before she comes on...

my Kiwi, is a sweetheart but he was a sudden rehome and he was already completely tamed when we got him a year ago and if he had his choice, would be glued to us all day. he will be 2 on April 17th. He was just a year old when we got him. He never played shy in his new home and was sitting with us within minutes of coming in the door. I work all day but am in amd out while my husband is retired and is usually in the other room, but there is noise so not sure how he would take to being alone for a few hours, but with music or tv on and with toys and foraging toys and stimulating things to do I would think he would be ok.