• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Cockatiel foot spasm??

Saharr98

Meeting neighbors
Hi everyone,
I have an 8-month-old cockatiel. I wanted to discuss something I have noticed in my bird a few times. I'm not sure if this is a health problem or others have observed similar things with their bird as this is my first time ever owning a bird.
I have noticed that my bird's foot shakes for a few seconds like a spasm and he taps his foot? He shakes his foot and then goes and preens it and then he continues to preen the rest of his body. He seems very unbothered by this and I haven't noticed any other signs with his foot like not being able to perch or walk.
I also don't see his foot being swollen or him acting like there is pain in the foot. This is not something that I observe every day, it happens very occasionally.
I would appreciate it if anyone knows if this is a concern or just a behavioral thing.

expressmailtome

Ripping up the road
Administrator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Matthew
Bump.

Shilpa

Sprinting down the street
Real Name
Shilpa
:bump4:

DesertBird

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
I think I may have seen my budgies do something like this right before they start preening, but a video of the behavior would be helpful.

Saharr98

Meeting neighbors
I think I may have seen my budgies do something like this right before they start preening, but a video of the behavior would be helpful.
Hey I can't really take a video because it happens like 1-2 times for a second and I don't know when it's going to happen but I noticed that this happens only during preening. Do you know if this is concerning or normal behaviour since it only happens during preening?

DesertBird

Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award