• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Clipping a budgies wings, good or bad?

mswendra38

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Marina Velasquez
Hello everyone! this is my first time posting and I have a question. I just got a 7 week old budgie and where I bought it from they told me to bring him back in about 3 months to trim his wings. I am not sure that I want to do that. I would like to know the pros and cons on wing clipping. Thanks everyone! have a wonderful day!

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle
Welcome to the forum. I don't believe in wing clipping. It's much better mentally and physically for a bird to be flighted. Some people believe it's easier to train a bird when it's wings are clipped. However, I think it's more forced dependency when they're clipped and not giving the bird a choice to be with you or not.

TikkiTembo

Rollerblading along the road
Real Name
Chelsea
We clipped one bird because we were told it would tame him. It didn't work! Now he is flighted and much happier. Though, if my Cockatoo became aggressive while flying, I'd clip him. I'm not sure if he'll ever fly or not.

Khizz

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I am also quite against wing clipping. As @sunnysmom said, some people say it makes them tamer. As already mentioned, this isn't really guaranteed, and to me it seems unfair to take flight away just so you can have a pet be dependent on you. There are lots of other lovely animals that are naturally cuddly and easy to tame, like a good rescue cat or dog.