• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Canary Winged Parakeet/Bee-Bee Parrot - Need Some Advice & Help**

xBirdLover97

Moving in
Real Name
Taytum McKee
( I'm sorry if I put this thread in the wrong category. I'm really new here ^_^')

Hello I'm xBirdLover97. I purchased a Bee Bee Parrot about 5 months ago, and he's starting to act up, he's about a year old. I'm not sure what may be causing this because I am kinda new to this whole owning a small parrot thing.

1.) He has been throwing his Sunburst seeds out of the dish. He does not eat any of it, just throws out everything. Along with a conure blend gourmet and fresh veggies and fruits + cooked everyday. This behavior started after I changed his seeds, because I thought I could get a similar conure blend gourmet at a local pet store. Which did not work out so well... he started throwing them. So I contacted the breeder I got my parrot from and told them what happened, they then let me buy some conure blend gourmet from them, which is where I get my conure blend from now on. But whenever I switched back to the sunburst the breeder had been feeding him, he just throws it all out, I have no choose but to remove them from the cage because I can not waste money on seeds that go to waste. So please if anyone has something similar to this happen and fixed it then please give me some tips!!

2.) He's tail feathers will not grow in. They keep breaking off. I figured the cause of this may be from the lack of his seeds. He always eats the conure blend gourmet, but never the sunburst

These are my main concerns so far, so if anyone could help me it would be really appreciated! Thanks for your time :)

P.S. If some could let me know hoe to link a video to this thread I can (I have one of him throwing seeds) Also I can send photos of his tail or give more detail on each problem

Tim