• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Canary: lonely behavior?

b.b.

Moving in
Hello everyone! I am new to birds, and this site has been invaluable in preparing and teaching me, thank you all so much. There are many threads discussing mixed aviaries, canary companions, etc butI created a new one because I’d like to know if you all think mine is lonely based on his constant singing and cuddling with mirrors.

A few months ago, I purchased an eight month old fife canary from a breeder. He is such a joy, has incredible personality, and sings nonstop (but less when I am in the room). He lives in my office, which is filled with ambient sunlight, plants, and full spectrum lights (the lighting hours in the room mimics outdoor sunlight). He flies free with open cage while I am in the room during the day. I have done what I can to ensure proper care, nutrition, and cage (30” tall, 37” wide, 20” deep – a Mcage flight on its side for more flying opportunity). My husband thinks I am insane, but I know you all wont!

When he flies around the room, he frequently sits at the little decorative mirrors, occasionally tapping his beak gently against his reflection. So, about two weeks ago I tried a little mirror inside his cage. This sweet guy sits snuggled up next to that mirror 50% of his time inside the cage, and he sings less often now (which is ok by me as long as he is still happy).

Research all over the internet concludes that there is no consistent answer to “should I get my male canary a companion”, but based on my observations, this one seems lonely. Or maybe the mirror has given him the company he needed? Since I only have experience with cats and dogs, I may be projecting, what do you all think?