• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Can you keep a single of a type of finch in a mixed aviary?

FinchORI

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Ori
Hello! I am new to finches, (I’m getting my first in a few days) and am thinking of possibly getting a mixed aviary sometime in the future. I was wondering if you can keep a single of a type of finch In a mixed non-breeding (all female) group. (Example one owl finch with other pairs of other types of finches) Thanks!

Destiny

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Destiny
Depends on the other species of finch.

Owl finches are pretty chill little dudes. They get along well with most other gentle finch species. But there are some aggressive or semi-aggressive finches that are not compatible with gentle finches. And there are some finches that get really aggressive during breeding season only, so they might be okay in a sorority aviary (all one gender), but not okay if kept in pairs.

Do you know what other finches you will be keeping?

FinchORI

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Ori
Depends on the other species of finch.

Owl finches are pretty chill little dudes. They get along well with most other gentle finch species. But there are some aggressive or semi-aggressive finches that are not compatible with gentle finches. And there are some finches that get really aggressive during breeding season only, so they might be okay in a sorority aviary (all one gender), but not okay if kept in pairs.

Do you know what other finches you will be keeping?
I don’t know, but some of the finches I have been thinking of keeping in the mixed aviary are Star Finches, Orange cheek waxbills, spice finches, owl finches and possibly canaries. I am getting zebra finches, but I will definitely keep them in a separate cage because they can be bullies sometimes.

Destiny

Mayor of the Avenue