• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Cage aggression

AlisaL

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Alisa LaVine
Hi, everyone,
I'm new to AA and a new parrotlet mom. I brought home my fallow green girl two weeks ago from a reputable breeder. She was hand-raised and tame. She will be 3 months on the 10th of this month. Her name is Sassypants but I use Sassy just as often.

She's an absolute joy. She loves being with me and since I'm disabled and home all day, spends a lot of time out of her cage. One of her favorite things to do is to snuggle up under my chin or against my face for a quick nap.

I realize that she's young and hasn't had her first bout of hormones. Currently, she isn't cage aggressive at all. I'm always in and out of her cage and right now, she's more curious than anything. She never knows when I might have a bit of her favorite treat in my hand so maybe she's just hoping!

She is my only animal companion. I have no plans on getting another bird. With my disability one is enough!

My question is this: if I continue on our current path, lots of out of the cage time, snuggle time, time with my hands in and out of her cage, showers, etc., will this make her any less prone to becoming cage aggressive?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or wisdom you may share!

Lady Jane

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Dianne
Welcome to AA. I will tage a member who knows this species. Can you get a photo of your little darlin?

@finchly

finchly

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Finchly
Hi Alisa,
What a perfect name for a parrotlet! :laugh: I have several of these little rascals myself. You’re very lucky to have one that is so tame.