• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Buying a cage is mind boggling...

Status
Not open for further replies.

BirdieMama

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Nancy
Clancy is getting a new cage. I've been shopping since I got him and I'm ready to place an order. There are so many choices and so many brands. This is my first purchase of a cage so I have some questions for you experienced cage purchasers.

1. Are there any brands that you will NOT ever purchase again due to quality or safety issues?

2. Colors...I am not interested in choosing a color for room decor. I'm interested in choosing a color for ease of cleaning and for Clancy's well being. Does the color make a difference to the bird? Are lighter colors or darker colors better? Does the color of the cage have any effect on the birds moods?

3. Play top or dome top? Clancy can be a little aggressive. He currently has a play top and he mostly just sits up there. He doesn't really "play" on the play top. Would the style of cage help with his agressiveness? Would you move him to a dome top?

4. Ease of cleaning - I change his papers every day and wipe up any obvious droppings. Once a week I take everything out and wipe the entire cage down and then hose down the slide out trays and grates. I cannot afford a stainless steel cage right now so what is the next best material for ease of cleaning?

5. Nuts and bolts - I've seen cages advertised as "bolt free". How much of a difference does this make?

6. I realize that size matters. I'm shopping for a 40X30 cage. Does the height matter that much? If so, what is the minimum height for an Amazon?

Anything else that I should be thinking about?

Thanks for any advice you can give me!

Prince Toasty Buns

Jogging around the block
I like HQ cages and the Avian Adventures brand.