• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Brand new Conure help!

CarlyRose

Moving in
Hey there! I adopted a conure from her previous owner a couple of days ago, and she is just the sweetest thing!! she sings and dances with me, lets me give her head scratches, eats treats out of my hand, and is otherwise acting really comfortable in her new home!!
The only problem is that she won't step up. She's not acting super territorial or scared, she just ignores my hand.
I'm fairly new to birds, but I do have a little experience from the local pet shop I work at. I know that birds usually need a bit of time before they're totally comfortable with you. Is there something I could be missing, or misreading, or am I just trying to get her to step up too quickly?
Any and all advice is appreciated!
Thanks!

JosienBB

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Perhaps she never learned? I had to teach all my conures to step up.

Tanya

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Tanya
She probably needs some step-up training lessons. :)

mochiballs

Sprinting down the street
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Jessica
Like everyone else said she just needs to learn. :)
Her previous owner might have used a stick or something when getting her to step up. I think I've seen some people use stuff like that because they're afraid of bites or something.

What kind of Conure is she?
Have you posted pictures?

Conures are amazing :D

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle