• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Best Taming Method?

Jenna64

Meeting neighbors
Hi everyone! :greet14:

I have two 7 week old budgies, and I've started taming them. The problem is there are so many taming methods out there. I've heard both that you should build trust by offering food. I've tried that sinces Sunday and they haven't touched the millet. I've been told by their breeder to just hold them and they will get used to it. I don't think this is a good idea for adult birds, but for baby budgies is this alright?

I'm new to birds and I'd love to hear how you bird experts tamed your birds! Please don't give my any methods that you have never tried. I'd love to hear methods that deffinatly work! Thanks in advance for any help you can give! :yahoo:

Zara

♥❀Livin´ in Lovebird Land❀☼
Super Moderator
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
I've been told by their breeder to just hold them and they will get used to it.
This is called flooding, and not accepted as ok.

It might take a while for them to gain enough confidence to come over, but give them time. Talk softly to them, don´t stare at them directly.
They have only just come to your home so they are still adjusting :)

Leih

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Leih Pearson