• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Best Camera?

PacoBirb

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Macey
So I think it is time that I get my hands on a camera for birding. I just don't know which one's best. I know it needs a high shutter speed, but what else? Do I need a lense? I've been looking at the Nikon D500.

bill-e

Strolling the yard
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Bill Esposito
The D500 is a good choice because it is DX, 10FPS and most importantly a large buffer. 200 RAW pics or 20 seconds continuous shooting.

What lens you get depends on what you plan on shooting and how serious you are. The cost of the lens can easily surpass the cost of the camera by a factor of 2 or more.

bill-e

Strolling the yard
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Bill Esposito
Disclaimer, I'm just a hobbyist.

For a hobbyist, a high megapixel camera and a good eye for cropping and you can get some great crops of song birds and large stationary birds like herons. Ebay has an assortment of older 300mm prime lens. Years ago I picked up a Nikon 300mm f4 AF lens which while the AF is slow and requires a body with a motor, the lens is tac sharp.

The beauty of a DSLR is that you can take a zillion shots and you only really need one ;) Even inexpensive zooms can produce very nice photo's of song birds and the occasional great blue heron or the like.

Professionals will tell you to stay away from zooms but you'd be surprised how many good shots you can get even with inexpensive equipment.....though primes are typically sharper. I have a 150-600 Sigma Sport zoom I bought to double duty with my grand kids sports and birding though i have yet to go birding with it...or at all since buying it, but am happy with it for sports while on a monopod.

Dartman

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Terry