• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Borncountry419

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jason Halonen
So far, 3 of the 6 eggs from my Lutino Fischers pair have hatched. This is my first time breeding lovebirds. I've only bred finches. When you open a finch nesting box, they tend to immediately beg for food. When I open the lovebird box, the babies seem to just bumble in circles with each other. Is this normal, or should they be begging for food? The parents seem very diligent about feeding them. These are black eyed, so they don't have the lethal gene that red eyed carry.

Attachments

Bokkapooh

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Mercedez
It is normal for them to hunch low and pretend to be invisible.

Boy!
You are right about the finches! They are so cute with their long giraffe necks stretching up with a tiny little head up top, bustling and hitting their siblings as their gaping yellow beaks spread wide.
"Cheep cheep cheep cheep"
aka
"Food food food food"!
:D

SweetAmber

Walking the driveway
Peach faced lovebirds are boring next to finches! As long as they have food in the crop, no worries.

Borncountry419

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jason Halonen
Sorry, didn't get notifications for the responses! 5 babies now, and one more egg. BUT, when I came home today, one of the youngest babies was 8 inches away, in the corner of the nest box! Clearly didn't get there alone! He's much too small to hand feed, but I'm debating about putting him into a finch nest that has only 1 baby, ready to fledge in a week. Not sure where he's better off! Ugh.

Borncountry419

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Jason Halonen
Peach faced lovebirds are boring next to finches! As long as they have food in the crop, no worries.