• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Are chickens easy to care for?

Yoyo'sMom

Jogging around the block
Real Name
Carol
So I've been asked to take a chicken that the people who have don't want anymore. I have no chicken experience whatsoever so I'm wondering:

Are they easy to care for?
Do they lay eggs frequently or is it just some do and others don't?
How much room do they need? (thinking I can build a coop)
I think they eat just seed and what ever is in the yard right?

Any answers greatly appreciated.

jmfleish

Cruising the avenue
Vendor
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Jen
I personally don't find them that hard to take care of. Depending on the type of chicken you get, they can lay fairly regularly unless you get a broody breed. We have Seramas and one of our females hasn't laid in weeks because all she wants to do is hatch our fingers and lay in bed. She's an indoor chicken and a total diva. We were probably getting an egg from her just about once a day before she decided she wanted to hatch fingers though.

We absolutely adore our chickens...probably almost more than our parrots. They are very docile and make great pets. Tildie will sit and watch TV with us and follows us around the house like a dog or a cat would. She's very, very cuddly, although you're probably going to keep yours outside. You can litter train them if you want to keep them inside. I think chickens are really under-rated as pets.

We feed them chicken layer feed but they do eat parrot food as well. You can give them scraps from the food you don't eat and we also feed them the mash that we make for our parrots. All the same don'ts for parrots are true for chickens...no caffeine, no avacado, try not to give them too much bread or other prepared foods, etc.