• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Apartment Conure?

trypcruz

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Charlie
I'm new to birds, and I am very seriously thinking about a small conure for my first bird, but I have a couple of questions.

I'm very happy to be around a chatty bird, but I can't deal with high volumes for a few reasons. First, I'm sensitive to loud sounds. Second, I work from home pretty frequently and sometimes have to be on the phone with a client or management. Third, I live in an apartment. Is there a conure that fits into that? Based on what I've learned so far, a GCC or Blackcap would be the way to go. Are there other lower volume conures that would work in this situation? I don't know that this is a great idea, but there's a parrot store near me that has THE MOST ADORABLE Half Moon Conure baby. I held him and shocked the guy working there because I was the first person the Half Moon didn't immediately try to fly away from, and he just sat on my hand while I gave him scritches on the top of his head. How bad an idea would it be for me to take home this little half moon conure?

derin

Strolling the yard
Real Name
Derin
I would say go for it. Conures in general are loud, but there is no such thing as a quiet parrot. I have female cockatiels and they are loud, and cockatiels are considered the quietest parrots. Every parrot is going to be loud and make loud noises.

sunnysmom

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Michelle