• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Amazon rescue help

jdeviese

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
James
Hi, everyone! I’m new here. Last week my cousin died and I seem to have inherited his 41-year-old yellow-naped Amazon. She’s a sweet bird and I’ve gotten some good guidance from my vet about basic care. But she was rather neglected and I’m having to start from scratch with her. She’s not well-socialized, won’t allow more contact than the occasional head scratch.

Any guidance you can give for training her would be most appreciated. I at least need her to be able to be handled for going to the vet...but I’d really like to see her live out her full potential as an Amazon

Thanks for any help you can give! I’m a bird novice. (Also, I have a dog—I see this as probably slowing any progress in training!)

Attachments

Yoshi&Raphi

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Raphi
Welcome to Avian Avenue! Does the amazon have a name?

Rain Bow

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
I inhereted Buddy my Mexican Red Headed Amazon parrot. This group saved his life! He was eating poorly, unsocialized (3 yrs in & we're still working on it) & un trusting as I was NEW to him.