• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

After laying an egg

Kk5758

Moving in
Real Name
Ko
Hi, I’m new at this but whatever info will help. idk if this is normal but my parakeet vent looks out and red after laying her first egg today. thanks

finchly

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Finchly
I know what you mean!

Birdie Mama

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
Might bit be an idea of getting a pic if possible? Her description or terminology may not be actually what is happening. i Know I run into that problem myself. I explain something to find out I am not using the right words and it is not what I was talking about. Or at least the way the other person thought

just a suggestion so everyone is on the same page for sure...

Birdie Mama

Rollerblading along the road
Mayor of the Avenue
I would say definitely a vet visit asap. Poor baby, nothing you could have done before the egg laying i don’t think. But hopefully the vet can take care of it right away. As Birdbabe said, keep it moist. Let us know how it goes at the vet

Mockinbirdiva

Cruising the avenue
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Andrea