• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

advice wanted; apathetic Caique

zzezma

Checking out the neighborhood
Hi, first post here. (fyi, some background - I am experienced with birds so I am not a beginner)
I bought a one-year old white-bellied caique (from someone who had a pair - the pair had a baby and the seller wanted to rehome it) and it is most likely a female, according to the seller.
Though it has been over a month and she is a handfed baby, she is very...apathetic. I was told by the seller that she was very playful and a handful. But she has no interest other than eating and mealtime. She is not scared, steps up just fine, sings, etc. but when I take her out and put her on her play stand, she just perches there. When I put her on the ground and offer toys she just walks around with no interest. She is healthy but I'm concerned she may be unhappy.
When I asked the seller, she said we spoiled her, so we lowered her time outside for the time being until she looked forward to coming out, but this has not worked so far.
I researched that caiques were very outgoing, playful birds, which is the primary reason I bought one, because I am home ALL day and can give my attention 24/7. I'm aware many of you will tell me that every bird has a different personality, I shouldn't generalize with what I see on the internet, etc. etc. but my main concern is that she is unhappy. Is she still warming up, even though it's been over a month? I guess I am asking for advice, if any caique owners had an apathetic bird that later warmed up and became joyful. Because if not -- Seller seemed very loving, and told me that if I were to ever consider rehoming, to return it to her instead -- I want her to be happy and return her back to her original home, back to her parents.