• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Advice for specific erratic behavior?

ghostpress

Moving in
Real Name
Lucia
My female green cheek conure is generally very well-behaved, except in some very few situations.

I'm a student, so I spend a lot of time writing either by hand or with a keyboard, and I have her out with me every second possible. The problem is that she gets very aggressive around pencils, pens, and my typing, but not 100% of the time. She'll be doing her own thing on the desk while I write or type, and then suddenly comes shooting over to attack my fingers, standing on my paper or keys with her tail fanned out, her head high, and ready to bite should I approach, even slowly. I have to wait for her to get bored and start something else again, but sometimes she comes right back. I've tried switching pencils, going from mechanical to wooden, and typing more softly, but something still bothers her. I have no idea what it is, since it doesn't seem consistent (she's sitting perfectly calmly on my shoulder right now as I type this), and all I can do is get out of the way of her beak and wait.

I recently upgraded the desk to a tabletop playground with foot and foraging toys and a miniature tree for her to hang out on while I work, and while this does mean we each have our own space and she doesn't have to climb all over me to avoid getting bored, the behavior still persists.

Has anyone else experienced this? Any ideas?

Donna turner

Rollerblading along the road
Avenue Veteran
Real Name
Donna
If I pick up my red pen and start writing and my gcc is on me she will run down my arm and attack pen and hand. I used to let her play with it. I guess she thinks I'm stealing her toy. She only does this if I'm writing with it.

CrazyBirdChick

Biking along the boulevard
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Real Name
Diane