• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Advice for a new IRN owner!

NotReptile

Moving in
(I'm new to this site and still don't know if this is the correct forum to post this in- Please direct me if there's a specific place for these types of questions!)

Hello! I finally brought home my new Indian Ringneck, last Sunday. I am new to Indian Ringnecks entirely but I have owned and tamed two conures prior to owning Ares. I've decided not to clip his wings and to let him be entirely free roam. His cage is entirely suitable for him to stay in but today I made the choice to finally let him out. He seems to be doing well but I still wanted to ask some questions! [Just to make sure I haven't missed anything]

[He's just 7 or so months old because his ring hasn't started to develop yet and he has a violet leg band, in the UK this means he was hatched in 2021.]

1) Is there anything I should be looking out for specifically with this breed of bird such as diet/behaviour?

- Currently, he's on a diet of seed mix and mainly fruits [blueberries, apples & bananas]

2) I read some posts here saying that IRN are hard to tame yet others say otherwise - although this is entirely depends on the individual bird - How much does taming an IRN differ to taming other birds?

- Ares is not hand tamed at all and is incredibly frightful as of now - to be expected since its so early.
- It took me 5 months to tame my first bird and around 3 months to tame the second, If this helps at all?
- Is there a chance Ares will never be tamed?

Thanks for any and all help!!!
:irn::heart2:

Pixiebeak

Biking along the boulevard
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Laura
This article has some tips on getting them to eat veggies. Veggies are awesome to include on diet

Pixiebeak

Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award