• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Adopted Quaker

MPSS2018

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Samantha
Hello everyone,
about 4 months ago I was given a full grown Quaker parrot, she was left in the cage all the time was left outside in a screened in dark porch shoved in a corner. When I first got her she was missing a lot of feathers very very aggressive ( she dose not like anyone else but me). She has now grown her feathers out and I refuse to shut and lock the cage on her because I wanted her to know she will never be locked up like that again. Recently she has started attacking me to the point it’s hard to even get close to her or even her cage. She has never since the first day I brought her here been this mean to me. I Have tried everything and anything to try and socialize her and nothing seems to be working. This is my first time ever owning a bird and I love her but I’m really getting worried she is just not happy here! I’ve moved her cage around thinking maybe she don’t like where she is that’s not helping I have tried giving her treats and at first it was but now not so much! She attacks my fiancé, he can’t even get near the cage without her flipping out. Any ideas? She is getting to the point where she does not even like me anymore. Any suggestions!

-Samantha

Hjarta5

Rollerblading along the road
Celebirdy of the Month
Avenue Concierge
Real Name
Jennifer
How is her cage set up?

How much sleep is she able to get without being disturbed?

What is her diet?

Has she been checked out by a vet yet to make sure she has no underlying health issues?

What is going on when she attacks you? Are your hands in her cage? Are you with someone else at the time, etc?

Do you think if shes hormonal? Has other behavior of hers changed recently?

MPSS2018

Meeting neighbors
Real Name
Samantha