• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Whole seeds in crop? :'(

yonswac

Strolling the yard
Hi there all,

so , this little guy hatched 1 day ago, and the parents do feed him well :heart:, but i noticed that his crop is full with whole seeds, is this normal?

Thanks guys?

saroj12

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
saroj
The parents should be getting soft mashed foods they can easily rregurgitate for the baby. Like cooked rice or oatmeal. I have no experience, just seems the common sense thing to do.

Birdbabe

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Celebirdy of the Month
Mayor of the Avenue
Avenue Spotlight Award
Avenue Concierge
Soft foods, oatmeal, cooked brown rice, sweet tators, a mash of sorts, scramble egg,,,,stuff like that. Baby can't digest whole seeds very well. What the parents eat,,,baby eats,,,,sure is a cutie!

yonswac

Strolling the yard
Thanks, the parents didn't grow in my house, i tried every trick to make them eat soft foods with no success. so they only eat seeds.

yonswac

Strolling the yard
SO is this dangerous for the babies`? should i handfeed them.?

Bokkapooh

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Mercedez
yonswac said:
Thanks, the parents didn't grow in my house, i tried every trick to make them eat soft foods with no success. so they only eat seeds.
Take away the seeds first thing in the morning and offer fresh for an hour. Then add seeds.

Lots of tricks in the book to try to get your birds on a better diet.

Bokkapooh

Ripping up the road
Avenue Veteran
Avenue Spotlight Award
Real Name
Mercedez
Its not dangerous, the seeds are hulled by the parents. But not healthy to be eating strictly seeds.

yonswac

Strolling the yard
i tried this trick as well, i'm happy that it's not dangerous :)

yonswac